Swallow: A Documentary

1 May

My sister recently sent me this short documentary about dysphagia which was produced by the National Foundation for Swallowing Disorders. It shares the story of 3 people of various ages who have different reasons for not being able to swallow.

I’ve got to say, I really relate to Elysa, the mother of 3.5 year old Rydr in this video. Hearing her talk about all of the therapy, the work of a feeding tube, the constant concern for swallow safety, and the “why did this happen to me, why did this happen to us” thoughts was like hearing someone read a page out of my diary. Parenting a little one with dysphagia is a tough road to walk, she’s 3 years ahead of me and it’s inspiring to see all of the progress they have made. Kids who have to hit all of the normal developmental milestones, and learn how to do instinctual things like swallowing are seriously tough and amazing.

 

2 Responses to “Swallow: A Documentary”

  1. munki May 4, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

    I couldn’t help but keep swallowing during that documentary. I have a new appreciation for something I take for granted! I hope your little guy has an easier time catching on. You can do it, cute baby!

  2. julia shay June 18, 2013 at 12:54 am #

    i have dysphagia at 45 for the last 12 years and i am also interested in natural foods. I use a vitamix to live.Would love to get in contact with you.

Leave a Reply

